ClickBank1
ClickBank1

Domain Scams

Here is something to be aware of – it’s not illegal but could be seen as unethical…..your call on this one…

I received a letter in the mail (real mail not email) about renewal of one of my domains. I won’t say the company name but it started off like this….

“As a courtesy to domain name holders we are sending you this notification of the domain name registration that is due to expire in the next few months. When you switch today you can take advantage of our best savings.”

Now here is a couple of points:

1. They are sending this at least 3 months ahead of when its needed- (they are getting ahead of the company you have your domain name with currently)

2. A busy small business owner, may miss the text about switching and just pay the bill.

3. Its priced in AUS Dollars, coming from a US based company, and as a comparison, to renew a .com domain would be about  $12.00 (AUS) – The best “savings” choice was $45.00 (AUS)

Here is what the letter looks like:

A search  for “Domain Renewal Group”- will tell more about what they doing….

Tell as many others, who have domains about this.

On a better note to download the preview version of my soon to be released Digital Product;

“A Plan for Free Web Traffic”: Click Here to Read the PDF

I welcome your feedback as it’s just being rewritten, The full version is likely to very comprehensive so that webmaster can dominate Google :)

No tags for this post.

Related posts


Facebook comments:

9 Responses to “Domain Scams”

  1. Bronwyn says:

    “forgetting” also…

  2. Kalena says:

    This is just another version of Domain Renewal Group of America – using a new name, different address but same scam: http://www.ask-kalena.com/q-and-a/q-and-a-how-do-i-cancel-a-domain-transfer-with-domain-registry-of-america/
    .-= Kalena´s last blog ..Twitter and Privacy- History Never Retweets =-.

  3. Bee Pone says:

    I got one of these renewal letters at twice the original cost of my .com or .co.nz domain name and also in AUS dollars. I was confused and just ignored it, luckily.

  4. Anthony says:

    Hi Paul

    Thanks for posting about this scam. I actually received a letter 2 months ago (looks exactly the same) from this company.

    I was quite suspicous and I am glad I ignored it.

    By the way keep up the good work – I have enjoyed reading your posts!
    .-= Anthony´s last blog ..The Ryder Cup of Golf =-.

Leave a Reply


1 day deals sites

SEO Training   | Search Engine Optimisation